Langata member of Parliament Phelix Odiwuor well known as Jalang'o is among five members of Parliament who have been expelled from Orange Democratic Party (ODM).

In a statement sent to the newsrooms on Wednesday, September 6, the ODM party National Executive Committee  NEC stated that the five MPs openly associated with and supported activities of a rival political party which is a violation of the ODM party constitution.

The expelled Mps are: Phelix Odiwuor Kodhe (Lang’ata), Elisha Ochieng’ Odhiambo (Gem), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo) and Tom Ojienda (Senator of Kisumu County).

The ODM NEC said the five are deemed to have resigned from the party and directed their names to be removed from the party register.

"The NEC decided that these members i.e Hon. Elisha Ochieng’ Odhiambo (Gem), Hon. Caroli Omondi (Suba South), Hon. Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Hon. Tom Ojienda (Senator of Kisumu County) and Hon. Phelix Odiwuor Kodhe (Lang’ata) be deemed to have resigned from the party. The party is hereby directed to commence the process of removing them from the register of the party."

Uriri MP Mark Nyamita and Rongo MP Paul Abuor Ksh 1 million within sixty days over same accusations. Nairobi Women Rep Esther Passaris was also fined Ksh 250,000 over supporting the Finance bill 2023 at the national assembly.

The party also resolved to revoke the nominations of four Members of the Kisumu County Assembly (MCAs) namely; Caroline Opar, Kennedy Ajwang’, Peter Obaso, and Regina Kizito